You can do better
Location of this house was wonderful. Close to bridge, pier and shops. Lots of parking. We fit 8 cars no problem. Good internet. Advertises that it sleeps 20 which it does. However, 20 people cannot comfortably fit in this house. One fridge was not enough. Kitchen and dining area big enough for 10 not 20. Near public access so on weekends you need to stake your umbrella area pretty early. We came in off season so it wasn't crowded at all during the week. House was really dirty. Doesn't look like anyone has cleaned under the beds for months. Pile of dirt in middle of living room floor when we arrived and a dirty Swiffer mop leaning up against the kitchen wall. Paid for the hot tub but it was emptied and turned off first day without any explanation. Some kind of dispute with the owner. Money will be refunded. Lights were out on bottom level and the cheap vinyl flooring in the dining area was ripped up which causes a trip hazard and potential to cut feet. Maintenance came out quickly and changed light bulbs and duct taped the floor seam. Owner called late Thursday afternoon and offered to arrange to have hot tub turned on but at that point it was too late. So house in poor condition but location excellent.
-- Mike T, 10/2/2019
Wonderful week
This is a nice older home rented through Treasure Realty. The house was clean and the kitchen was fully equipped. We had a large group staying here for the week. There was plenty of bed space and bathrooms. A couple of the bedrooms had to be accessed through another bedroom (including the master bedroom.) The living room was a little small for a big group but it wasn't a big deal. We would rent this home again. I loved waking up to the sun rising behind the pier. We went for many walks on the beach. Every day we would see dolphins jumping and even got to see a whale!
-- Kari0076, Menomonie, Wisconsin 12/1/2016
Older Ocean Front, nice home, awkward bedrooms!
This home was nice but the bedroom layout is awkward. There were a few repairs needed while we were there. Which were taken care of promptly by the rental company. The basement is a little musty but the house is overall ok. There were only 2 rooms with a TV so everyone had to "fight" kids for the evening news. The home is located right next to the public beach access so there is a good bit of "people watching" to be had. The location is perfect - right in Surf City and walking distance to almost everything in town (1 block from the pier and ice cream!) (The last night the ceiling in the basement was leaking over one of the beds too!) :( I have created a floor plan of the home to post on here - it's not perfect and I'm not a CAD person but it's there for someone who just wants to figure out how this place is laid out - the rental site is very confusing and isn't very helpful about "what bed is where" if you try to call - they just tell you they don't know. I hope this is helpful!
-- Beyonde_1, 9/2/2015
At-home
Older beach-front home with tons of amenities! 6 bedrooms - sleeps 20, 4 full bathrooms, outdoor shower, hot tub, cable tv, DW, microwave, W/D, free WiFi, parking for 9 vehicles, must provide own beach necessities - towels, chairs, umbrellas, able to rent linens and bath towels. Rooms are spacious. Never had problem with AC. Restaurants, fishing, parks and shopping within walking distance.
-- MelanyDawn, 8/3/2014
Great Home
This home has everything you need new super gas stove top for cooking, new appliances, wood flooring, so smells new and clean and is clean and neat. We enjoyed being within walking distance to everything, and so close to the pier that several of our party went to the pier to fish daily. The hot tub was great and private yet close to showers. We had plenty of space with two kitchens on seperate floors.
-- Rick Brinson, nc 8/27/2013
perfect weather
We had a great week of fun and sun. The house is a good value you will notice some imperfections. One of the chairs on the deck had a broken leg, which could have resulted in injury if we had not have noticed. Also, deck railing was lose be careful with children. House has a hot tub, but I did not use so I can't comment on it. Very hard for senior citizens to get down to the beach because of the sand that has been blown up on the steps at the end of the walkway, you literally have to slide down. Appliances in the kitchen looked new. Overall nice home, but I wouldn't book again with small children and seniors.
-- retta, tn 7/25/2013
Great week at the beach!
The service we received was great. When the air conditioning went out on the lower level of the house (3 bedrooms) during the night prior to July 4th a service person arrived the afternoon of July 4th following a morning call to the realtor! We were good to go after a short service call. We were afraid we would have to wait until the 5th and the heat was oppressive that week---a great week to be at the beach. Our main complaint was mentioned in another review---the lack of towel racks. 20 people in the house and not even enough towel racks in the bathrooms for showers, never mind all the beach towels and swimsuits. Consequently, the dryer was going almost constantly. Towel racks make a lot more sense to me. There was certainly enough room. The extra kitchen on the lower level was a godsend--plenty of fridge space. I was worried about table seating for meals upstairs based on the pictures but the extra folding table and chairs took care of our needs. Loading the dishwasher in the main kitchen was a bit of a challenge as the door only opened partially before rubbing up against the stove cabinet. The 5 burner stove upstairs was great! All the rotating chefs in our family enjoyed it. Plenty of parking was a plus. We had 5 cars at times but 6 would be no problem. We were just a couple doors down from the ice cream shop and the grocery store. Beach was crowded but it was the 4th of July week so to be expected.
-- Marine Parents, OH 7/25/2013
Treasure Realty Rentals Rock!
Once again, we had a great experience on Topsail Island, and we continue to rent from Treasure Realty. Our rental, 205 S. Shore Dr., although a bit older, was clean with plenty of room. The main TV is a huge flat screen and we could all sit and watch a movie-- The avengers! (I like that the owner put couch covers on all the couches) The water was still good to go in the first week of October. It was also so close to the IGa on the Island for last minute groceries (or all the groceries) we could walk there and back. My husband walked to the fishing pier and we walked to Buddy's the bar on the beach, walked up barefoot and had a couple of beers...so fun! I want to thank all the owners of rentals because we get to experience ocean front at the beach once a year, and have never been dissappointed.
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Morrisville (near Raleigh) 10/17/2012
A unique family gathering of 18 with three generations - and a l
A stay on the seaside needs good weather and we had that for 97.5%. The large TV screen in the living room gave us evening after evening exciting updates on the 2012 Olympics in London. We created our own Olympics on the beach during daytime and won all the gold medals. All persons under 23 reigned on the first floor; all couples on the 3rd and the grandparents (Oma celebrated her 85th birthday) in the quiet room on the 2nd floor. Location great! Kitchen great! And thanks for answering our request for more chairs and tables!!
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Chapel Hill NC. 8/15/2012
Wonderful!
The house was neat and clean and was able to house our family reunion! But even better - it was absolutely the best location to have ! Beautiful views!! And a lovely short walk to shopping, restaurants, and ice cream! Even now, a few days later, we are all missing the fabulous sight of the beach out the back door! Wish we were still there!
-- Nancy McP, MA 8/1/2012
Big House, Great Location, not a luxery rental
I will start out by saying I would stay here again because I have a young family with lots of kids and I never worried once that we would damage this house because it started in C- condition. The first thing I noticed as I entered the property was the large deck with private heated outdoor shower...nice! When I walked in the door I was taken back by the frat house quality furniture draped with slip covers. Next I see 2 holes in the dining room wall. The bottom level floor smelled like a basement and was cave like, but it really isn't a basement and actually accounts for some nice bedroom space. The lower level kitchen is awkward because it would be a great space for a rec room, but having a 2nd fridge is a great feature for a house that holds 20. As the first day passed I decided the house lacked maintenance, was decked with Wal-Mart grade fixtures, lacked conveniences like hand towel racks in the bathrooms, 2 rooms lack a dresser, and I don't think 1 of the kitchen drawers opened without lifting it off the cabinet doors below. The beach was awesome, the location was a+, there was ample parking for 6 cars, and the living room/dining room/ kitchen space allowed for plenty of room for the whole family even on the day it rained. One of the upstairs bedrooms bathrooms was big enough to set up a portable crib so the baby could be put to sleep separate from the toddlers. The wireless internet provided enough bandwidth for everyone's devices. I mentioned all the shortcomings to get the attention of the owners and so anyone who can't overlook minor imperfections can book a different house. I had a great trip and would rent this house again the next time I need that much space.
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Cleveland 6/19/2012