Nice layout but some things lacking
Layout very nice and comfortable. Clean when we arrived. Kitchen sufficiently stocked with needed items. Pantry was added benefit. Because of public access next to house would not want to rent during high season but was not busy late March. Nice beach decor. Laundry area easily accessible. Oceanfront always the best (we have rented various homes oceanfront for 19 years). No neighboring homes that overlooked oceanfront deck. Cons: considering this house had accommodations for at least 4 adults, the deck furniture was seriously lacking. Only 2 high tops and the rest were very uncomfortable (??) weird chairs. A few composite loungers (2) and a few other composite chairs on lower game room. No opportunity to sit together with a place for a drink of choice on the deck. The shower off the bunk room had very low pressure (granted, we did not call management firm on this) - unable to use. Found ants in kitchen on third day. Called management and they came next day. Understand bugs of many variety typical on beach. Overall worked well for us at this time of year with only 3. Would have higher expectations if more guests.
-- Kathy W, Scottsdale, Arizona, United States 3/28/2021
DISASTER ! DON'T TRUST THE PICTURES !
Day 1 rental on the beach. Arrived early to house, parked on street; 1 pm cant get in until 4 pm; place is a mess ! trash strewn side yard, rusted rain gutter blocking walk, broken window shutters propped haphazardly against the house; my heart sunk...what might the inside look like ? called treasure realty the agent for the house. Disconnected ! got through, put into voicemail; 1 hour later they call back...they asked me what I was doing there ? did I pay for early entry ? if someone saw me parked in the drive, they might be suspicious ! I explained to the woman that I had parked in street and walked to the house...she would send maintenance out. Back of the house filthy; outdoor shower yeech ! Mold everywhere ! discarded rusted and broken child toys and beach chairs...workmen arrived; could not do much, house just poorly maintained and improperly cleaned. Got inside...ugh ! Hall stairs carpet filthy ! Bedroom carpets filthy ! Not just stained but dirty ! and not dirty from last tenant...dirty from years of tenants and no professional cleaning...Ants in the kitchen. My guests arrived and I was embarrassed. Called office...asked them to send someone out to re-clean. Never showed ! tomorrow is Sunday...guess I wont hear from them till Monday...maybe. We had rented 3 years ago from Treasure and had bad experience also !
-- Thomas T, Malvern, Pennsylvania 10/4/2020
Maintenance Very Poor
Needs $ to be spent. The list is long: Icemaker/freezer broken and leaking so long the floor is peeling up. A/C window units upstairs cause the system must be broken. ANTS... A/C filters disgusting and not sanitary - during a pandemic. However, it is a great location.
-- john k, Washington DC, District of Columbia 8/10/2020
Nice location but interior is dated with strong tobacco smell
Great location being on the beach. The views of the ocean were great. However, house needs to have some renovation to remove tobacco smell. All of our personal items smelled like tobacco smoke upon returning home. You will notice the smell immediately upon entering. The smell is embedded within the walls, carpet and furniture and will need serious mitigation. Unfortunately, the house was not properly cleaned. Dog hair found throughout, pots/pans were dirty, carpets are stained, area behind home needs attention as path to beach is overgrown, Toilet in first floor MBR was not cleaned. Several updates House has great potential. Just needs some TLC. If you can get past the tobacco smell, some cleanliness issues and need for updates, this can be a great location.
-- Stay15619332331, 6/29/2019
Great Location - Beautiful Home
This is a large house that accommodates up to 10-12 people. We loved being right on the beach. The covered porch was great for having breakfast and lunch on and the dining room table was also large enough for our group of 9. It is convenient to Surf City and North Shore Golf Club.
-- dpry35, Hewitt, New Jersey 8/18/2016
House in subpar condition
Unfortunately we arrived to find this rental property reeking of nicotine and in an overall poor condition that included: a failing AC unit that needed to be replaced and for a significant portion of our stay did not work; defective shower doors in both upstairs bathrooms; torn and missing window screens; and rotting, broken deck rails on both decks. This rental was no where close to the condition of other properties we have rented in the past on Topsail!
-- Rdwagly, Indianapolis, Indiana 7/8/2016
perfect location but the house needs some work
House was in a perfect location, not a lot of stairs it the beach which I appreciate. House needed some general maintenance. Garage doors wouldn't open and screens needed to be repaired. Light bulbs in the kitchen were burned out and ceiling fans didn't work. The house was clean and we had perfect weather.
-- emily l, Cary, North Carolina 10/25/2015
Nice House, Needs a Few more ammenities...
The house was the perfect size for our family of 4, plus our two small dogs. The location is perfect. House overall is in very good shape. Beds are very comfortable. Covered deck overlooking the ocean was fabulous. Where I would suggest improvements would be in the seating in the family room. There needs to be more seating, maybe a sectional instead of the 2 small sofas. There was not enough room for the 4 of us to sit and be comfortable at the same time. Also I would recommend adding more utensils in the kitchen, more glasses. The kitchen did not feel as well equipped as it could have been Having owned several rental properties ourselves, we know how important these reviews can be. We would go back for sure!!! Also, the decor in the master bedroom did not fit with the beach house theme, and the photographs in the front hall were odd, again for a beach house - neither of those rooms "worked" visually. With a little more effort this would definitely be a 5 star property, but it isn't there just yet. Still it is a good value, and we would definitely go back to the house, just as it is now. Lots of potential :). As for the rental agents, we had to wait 4 days to get internet service and cable...Not great for a 6 night stay :(
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Virginia 8/28/2013
The Best
we had the best vacation ever. Hardly anyone on the beach. The weather was great, fishing was not so good. I caught a crab! We loved the house. Wish we could buy it from the owners. We are not ones to go out for dinner every night so staying in and listening to the beach waves was just awesome. We love going to the fish market for fresh fish. My husband and son went golfing and came back in 4 1/2 hrs. the said the course was in excellent shape. We will be going back to the same house next year at around the same time. Thank you!
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, 10/23/2012
almost as good as I expected
Excellent location ; very good condition ; good access to both Surf City and Sneads Ferry. This beach house is in a private community with a home owners association that could use some work on their common property wooden walkways over the dunes to the beach. i.e. broken stair treads and railings. Treasure Realty personnel were polite, knowledgeable and helpful. D Gabel
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, greensboro north carolina 10/11/2012
R E L a X I NG...
You know when your checking out houses online, you always wonder and hope that it looks as good as it does in the photos? Well, this home exceeded my expectations. I was blown away by the view and layout of the home - it was perfect. The only thing I would suggest is a gate on the lower deck, a fan in the master bedroom, optional plastic covers on the bunk beds (they were uncomfortable for my teens) and rocking chairs or hammock. Even with all the said, I hated to leave this house - I wish I owned it. Enough said! p.s.the kitchen was so awesome!
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Raleigh via NYC 8/21/2012