Needs Deep Clean/Exterminator/Upkeep
Had cleaning issues upon arrival. Dirty floors with sand and carpet with old food from last guests. Had someone come clean this after check in. Surfaces were barely wiped and still dirty. Checking later after the cleaner left, the shower and bathtubs were dirty and stained yellow like it had not been cleaned for a while. The house was full of roaches. Killed about 20 roaches while there. That was nasty. Walls are dirty and scuffed. Interior stairs are carpeted and has a terrible odor. There was barely any cleaning done, especially not COVID cleaning like The Treasure Realty Home Care Commitment on their website states. A plus was the beach close with views. Hot tub was nice. Pool would be nice if warmer and it was cleaned.
-- SW0718, Topsail Island, North Carolina 9/24/2020
Peaceful recharge with wife and pup!
This is a great retreat, just across the road from the beach...but an unobstructed view. The owners had just recently completed the repair/upgrade when we needed an escape and this beautiful location is perfect for the Great Escape. Internet friendly and nice TV in the living room, right off the kitchen, made for excellent headquarters for the week. With the beach view, the covered decks and the well appointed furnishings, we cannot wait until we get to return. I am happy for the owners that their place is booked all summer and sad that I must wait until October in order to return. Hot tub, private pool....just really nice. There are a lot of steps for dog excursions, but the work-out was great. The sand spurs were really bad in March and I had to check in between doggy pads every time we went outside because they were so prevalent and they are very painful. By the end of the week however, we did not want to leave as inner peace had been restored...oh and there are enough places to deliver that we did not need to cook every night either, which was an added bonus. If you like a get away, instead of a get in the middle, this is the place for you. It was for us and will be again.
-- tonyrU6190LR, 6/13/2020
adequate rental near the beach
Pros: -This 2nd-row house has an unobstructed view of the beach and the beach access is steps away from the house. Without being oceanfront, the location can't be beat. -There's a pool. (We didn't use it b/c it was too cold when we stayed, but it looked nice and refreshing.) -The house has 6 bedrooms, so there's plenty of space for everyone to spread out. -It's dog-friendly. -There are nice decks front and back with plenty of seating. -There are tvs in all the bedrooms and a nice big tv in the living room. -The price was quite reasonable. Cons: -When we stayed, the house wasn't very clean. This is more of a complaint about the cleaning service than the house, but still. The floors (laminate and carpeted) were visibly dirty, and in some places, sticky. Kitchen cabinets were sticky. -There is carpeting in the bedrooms and rugs throughout the home. WHY do people put carpeting in beach houses? AND double WHY do people put carpeting in homes that are dog-friendly?? It's just a trap for sand, dog hair, dirt, and odors. There was a faint urine smell in various parts of the house. -The house has a definite musty smell. We had to keep the windows open throughout our stay to air out the house. -The house needs a fresh coat of paint indoors and out. There are lots of marks on the walls and there are places where the paint is peeling on the exterior of the home/decking. -The master bed was uncomfortable. It was too soft and it had to distinct body divits. -The shower in the master bath doesn't allow one to fully access the hot water. As a result, the shower gets hot (quickly) but never gets quite hot enough. -There is a loud motor sound (coming from the pool/hot tub filter??) under the master bedroom. If that kind of constant droning sound would bother you, it's pretty annoying. -The furniture throughout the home is just in ok shape. Lots of the bedroom furniture is Ikea type, and all the furniture is a little dated and worn, and in some places, stained. The light fixture in the dining area is has a broken glass piece. The overall decor leaves a good bit to be desired. It's your standard eclectic accumulation of random pieces that one would deem not good enough for your regular house, but ok for your rental. -The bandwidth for the internet wasn't enough to keep up when more than a couple of us were on the internet at the same time. If you have a big party that is all going to be online at the same time, this will be an issue. Overall, if you're looking for a reasonably priced home with lots of bedrooms and a convenient beach location, and aren't too picky about the interior of the home, this is a great rental. If you want an upscale home and will be spending lots of time indoors, you might want to look elsewhere. Note: This house has a lot of stairs. This wasn't a con for us, but if you have someone in your party that has limited mobility, this would be a big impediment.
-- Elizabeth M, 4/6/2018
A Must Stay for Relaxation and Comfort
I must say that I have stayed at this rental several times and I still am in awe of how beautifully it is kept up, the accommodations are to die for. Even with all the steps I will continue renting this property. What I like about it is that the owners care about what they are renting and it shows in all they do especially with the updates they continue doing. Love everything about this rental. I would recommend this rental to anyone that wants their money worth because it gives you all that and more.
-- Linda D, Greensboro, North Carolina 4/21/2016
Simply Excellent House
This house must be under new ownership because everything was updated and clean. Contrary to some of the older reviews, we found this house a very pleasant stay for our family. Very nice, spacious interior, coupled with a prime location for beach and sound side, makes this a premium stay on Topsail.
-- GlobalCitiz1970, Greensboro, North Carolina 4/22/2015
Awesome experience to share with family
Love everything about this property. There were upgrades done that were awesome. So much room for my family to enjoy themselves. I could not have stayed at a better rental home. All of the ammendities were awesome. It was a blast spending time here and would definitely do it again in the future. Love it, Love it.
-- Linda D, Greensboro, North Carolina 4/15/2015
Outstanding
Me and my friends throughly enjoyed our stay. The house was clean and very welcoming. All of the amenities were also. There was plenty of room for everyone to enjoy themselves. Love having hte pool onsite and the hot tub was a bonus. This is definitely a place i would and will rent again.
-- Linda D, Greensboro, North Carolina 10/8/2014
I's just OK
The location is great. The house is just OK. The pool is gross, two of four children got double ear infections. The owner ought to come down and check the water, PH and chlorine levels in the pool mid week sometime, or better yet just get a new pool company. We never saw a pool guy mid week which is unusual. We did see the sand and stains in the pool that other folks mentioned. The home needs a new pool company and a new filtration unit for the pool. The thing leaks like Niagra falls, the pool kept getting below the level of the skimmer, so in went the hose and down went the chlorine concentration. This is a no-brainer, fix it. The floating Pergo floor on the top level is a bit ugly and installed poorly but you can walk on it. The kitchen is not appointed well enough to cook extravagant meals. Thinking Thanksgiving? Rent somewhere else. There are some things that need fixed, screen doors etc. But overall the interior and exterior are better than some and not as nice as others. We liked the location. We're a bit concerned that additional houses will be built across the street soon and spoil the ocean view. So check that before renting. We'd consider this house again, but given the opportunity to rent one of the neighboring properties we would choose most of them over this one. If you or anyone in your party is particularly picky, experiences buyer's remorse with any frequency, or has super high expectations for the quality and maintenance of the beach house, this home is not for you. If you just want a chair, A TV, a nice view, a gross pool and a fridge to keep your beer in you should be fine, press on and bring your pooch. We left ours at home, alas $200 per dog is usurious. We've paid a lot less- for example a flat $150 fee in Corolla to allow multiple dogs. All things considered, we had a good time, Topsail is awesome if you just want to get away from the grind, but there are better local rental options with pools at this price point.
-- John, VA 8/21/2013
Better Than Expected!
We reviewed the pictures online several times and to be honest were not that happy. Although what we saw was exactly what was there - the pictures somehow didn't do it justice. We were very happy once we arrived and looked all around. We greatly enjoyed the views and a well stocked kitchen (we bought so much stuff with us that we really didn't have to)but again looking at those pictures we thought we were getting the bare minimum. There are a few things that need a little TLC but overall we had a great experience. I do wish someone would have told me that we would have to wait in line at Treasure Realty to check in and then again to pick up the keys (that was crazy). Consider yourself warned now. Come ready to walk up and down the stairs several times but enjoy the peacefulness and quality time you can spend with loved ones.
-- Judy, Florida 7/28/2013
Disappointing Week
Weather was great. Linens were late. Vents were falling out of the ceiling. Pillows were nasty stained. some dishes and pots and pans had mold and stuck food in them. We had to jimmy the dishwasher door to get it to close properly. 2 of the queen beds were broken down, when you sat on the side of the bed you rolled to the middle and had to crawl to the edges. Pool quit working on Tuesday evening and was still not working when we left on Saturday. Numerous calls to realty office with no results. Tv in living room had the screen cracked in three directions. 1 TV missing. 1 TV in bedroom would not work. No discount on price!!! Enough said.
-- Karen Cowger, WV 7/25/2013
Great vacation
We rented this house for a family vacation. It was our first time in Topsail. We had 9 people in the house (adults and children) but everyone over the age of 16. This house was perfect. Close to the beach, easy access, great ammenities. The few maintenance things we had were addressed quickly. The only bad part was the wireless internet connection did not work. But this kept us from spending too much time indoors. Overall great experience. Would go again.
-- Lynnie, PA 7/25/2013
Nice location- Needs TLC
This location was perfect. Beach right out front, Inlet right out back. This home also had a pool which was a good plus. Close to the North end bridge/ Sneads Ferry which is a plus. I think that the property could be so much nicer if the owners took pride in what they have. The property is in need of TLC and small repairs. When arriving we noticed the TV had a crack in the screen and that there were vents hanging from the ceiling not fixtured. We called Treasure Realty and they took note. I understand the rental company can only do so much if the owners don't repair what is damaged. They were cordial, but nothing was fixed during our visit. The deck off the kitchen provides amazing space to enjoy the outdoors....but there is NO patio furniture on the deck. There are a few chairs but no table to utilize. We had to rent chairs AND a table from "Everything Beach" (which I highly recommend, they were great!) Also, the house sleeps 13 and there was a kitchen table and enough chairs to only seat 5. This was very disappointing as our family struggled to all spend time in the same area together. One would think for the money paid for a week's rent and for the size of this house (6 bedrooms!) there would be enough seating for at least the amt of people the house sleeps. The kitchen was not well equipped. We had to buy a couple of kitchen gadgets (which we left for the next renters). This house is in an area with very similar houses on either side. This house looks the most poorly taken care of and also had a dirty pool and the others did not. Again, disappointing. We understand that it is inevitable that sand will get in the pool but it was littered with sand at the bottom upon our arrival, looking onto the other properties on either side from our top deck- their pools were clean (Treasure also runs these houses.) Again, I understand that the rental company can only control what they are dealt with. So may I suggest to whoever is looking at this property- You will have a good experience with Treasure Realty, just rent one of the properties on either side of this one. Because you can'tbeat the location or the ocean/inlet views :)
-- SarahAnn99, Toledo, Ohio 6/19/2013
Good house but not for toddlers
Great location, pool was great, and short walk to beach. We brought 2 kids under 4 with us and that was challenging in this home. Our 2 year old fell down the stairs in spite of the baby gate. The kitchen and living room are on the top floor which was great for amazing views but a nightmare for toddlers who can't yet master stairs. The baby gates would not secure properly due to the configuration of the steps and there is a built on bench on the top floor that terrified us all week. However, this is a good house for a week at Topsail. It's loud when people are walking upstairs and some things were in disrepair. However, we enjoyed it and have few complaints other than its just not suited for little ones.
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, Virginia 9/9/2012
Expensive House
We paid alot of money and were disappointed because the house was dirty upon our arrival. The houses next to ours had jaquzies and our house did not. We had to walk down the beach because the beach in front of our house had a tar substance with shells protruding from it. My grandson cut his foot the first time he went into the ocean, We do not recomend this home to others.
-- james corrao, pa 5/26/2012
Worth the mOney
The house was very nice and affordable the location was great as well . The only problems we had were with the pool being dirty and never did get it to clear up the entire week and no outside lights near the pool or under house were working .
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, charleston wv 5/25/2012
wonderful had a great home and loved the closness of the ocean.
just a great time with family and a contable home while we stayed .hope to repeat it this year. realy liked the location ,right across from ocean, could see and hear it .was all very niceĀ  and easy check in and out close shopping but my greatest part was being in the ocean.then returning to the comfort ot he home.
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, crossville tn 4/12/2012
very nice and very quiet
loved the area and the beach was very nice. We took our dog he loved it to great place for children and pets.
-- A FlipKey verified reviewer, China Grove NC 4/10/2012
Great Location but Terrible Quality
This house was in extremely poor condition for the location and the high price. The home was dirty, poorly managed and needed a lot of work. The carpets were stained; the kitchen and two of the bedrooms had not been vacuumed; water damaged trim in all the bathrooms; screen doors were torn; outside doors rusted; the pool needed cleaning; light bulbs were out (I went out and bought some!); and the clothes dryer needed lubrication or replacement since it made a distinct, loud rubbing sound continuously during use. Treasure Realty was woefully unresponsive. When many of these issues were reported, Treasure Realty employees told me that the owner was responsible for fixing these problems. Finally, the a/C had a fixed setting making it uncomfortably hot on the kitchen level! Last note, yard maintenance company needs to pick up past cigarette butts, there were hundreds of them on the side of the house. I will not stay in a Treasure Realty property again, they do not provide any oversight to the property.
-- Scott, NC 4/10/2012